Striving Towards Better Cities | Home |P E A R L | Site Info | RTI |Contact us |Feedback |हिंदी   

New Page 1   About us   Thematic Areas   Publications   Projects   Activities   NIUA in the News   News and Events   Archives   Information Centre   Call for Papers   Useful Links  


  Home About us Governing Council


The National Institute of Urban Affairs (NIUA) is managed by a Governing Council that is represented by senior officials from the Government of India, eminent urban leaders, experts and corporate heads. These luminaries include:

Mr. Anil Baijal

Former Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development, Government of India

Vice President
Prof. Om Prakash Mathur
Distinguished Professor of Urban Economics, NIUA

Prof. Ashish Bose

Professor Emeritus, Institute of Economic Growth 

Director, NIUA

One nominee representing Ministry of Finance:
Ms. Sudha Krishnan
Joint Secretary & Financial Adviser, Ministry of Urban Development, Government of India

Two ex-officio members:
Representing Ministry of Urban Development
Mr. Ashok Singhvi
Joint Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development, Government of India

Representing Planning Commission
Prem Narain
Senior Adviser, Planning Commission, Government of India

Two members representing state governments:

Mr. K.M. Shivakumar
Addl. Chief Secretary, Deptt. of Urban Development, Government of Karnataka

Mr. Injeti Srinivas
Principal Secretary, Deptt. of Housing Urban Development, Government of Odisha

Four corporate members:
Mr. V.P. Baligar
Chairman and Managing Director, Housing & Urban Development Corporation (HUDCO), New Delhi

Mr. S. Raman
Chairman and Managing Director, Canara Bank, Bangalore

Greater Noida Industrial Development Authority (GNIDA)


Dr. Guruprasad Mahapatra
Commissioner, Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation

One founder member (individual)
J. R. Bhalla
Architect, New Delhi

Four members Co-opted by the Governing Council 

(representing different disciplines)

Mr. Sayed S. Shafi
Town Planner, New Delhi

Mr. Pradeep Singh
Managing Director, IDFC Projects Ltd., New Delhi

Dr. Jyoti Parikh

Executive Director, IRADe,  New Delhi 


Dr. P.S. Rana

Former CMD, HUDCO, New Delhi



  National Institute of Urban Affairs

National Institute of Urban Affairs, Core 4B, India Habitat Centre,
Lodhi Road, New Delhi 110003, India

Copyright NIUA, all rights reserved

New Page 1